Effects of Rifaximin in Gastrointestinal Diseases



XifaxanReviews

people have reviewed this drug
4 Stars
Review this Drug

Tips for Good Reviews

SHOW:
1 Stars
Posted 18 months ago (5/25/2017)

RatedXifaxanfor Irritable bowel syndrome - Diarrhea (IBS-D)Report

Have been taking xifaxan for about a week ... It helped with the diarrhea and going to the bathroom every hour... But I started eating less and getting headaches . Headaches got worse.,then I couldn't eat. I have been vomiting for two days ..it hurts so much. I'm weak and tired. I have nothing left to vomit but I can't stop. I can't take this drug.. it helped me a little but this is way worse.

Report
5 Stars
Posted 24 months ago (11/30/2016)

RatedXifaxanfor Irritable bowel syndrome - Constipation (IBS-C)Report

12 hours into drug and already I am pain free. I never thought I could feel normal again. Hope it last. My BCBS paid for the drug Miracle

Report
5 Stars
Posted 25 months ago (10/15/2016)

RatedXifaxanfor Irritable bowel syndrome - Diarrhea (IBS-D)Report

I am not someone who typically likes to try medications that are new to the market, but I am glad I did. This medication changed my quality of life dealing with IBS -D like symptoms. For 2 years I would have pain and pressure and severe abdominal distention that got almost unbearable as the day went on. I also had significant lower back pain when I had these symptoms and could only eat small meals. I took 2 pills daily for 2 weeks to treat possible SIBO (although I didn't do the breath test since I would have had to go off of my antacid for a week.) Within a week, I felt better. And, after 2 weeks I had 80% + reduction in symptoms. Still feeling good at 8 weeks later. Slight stomach upset noticed when starting with 3 pills daily, so went to 2 pills daily since I have a lower body weight and did fine. It cost 00 before my insurance. I had a copay with my insurance and then downloaded the company's online coupon, which paid for the entire copay. So no cost to me, but a hit on my insurance. Definitely worth a try. This was the only thing that helped me feel better!

Report
5 Stars
Posted 26 months ago (9/15/2016)

RatedXifaxanfor Irritable bowel syndrome - Diarrhea (IBS-D)Report

I had almost constant diarrhea, bloating, gas, etc., for two years. My symptoms were completely gone in 24 hours. I am very thankful!

Report
5 Stars
Posted 28 months ago (7/22/2016)

RatedXifaxanfor Irritable Bowel SyndromeReport

Started working within 2 days. No more bloating or stomach pains every time I eat.

Report
2 Stars
Posted 29 months ago (6/27/2016)

RatedXifaxanfor Irritable bowel syndrome - Diarrhea (IBS-D)Report

I took Xifaxan because my doctor diagnosed me with IBS-D recently. I usually have diarrhea about two-three times a day. Imodium obviously helps with this but I don't want to have to take that every day. We decided to give Xifaxan a try but it did not help. I actually was having to go to the bathroom even more than usual. Hope it works for others, unfortunately did not for me.

Report
5 Stars
Posted 29 months ago (6/26/2016)

RatedXifaxanfor Irritable Bowel SyndromeReport

I am not taking Xifaxan for irritable bowel syndrome, but the drop down list doesn't have my condition, which is pouchitis after full colenectomy and pseudocolon (J pouch) construction. I periodically develop pouchitis, which is not the same as IBS, and Xifaxin is the only drug that actually works for me. I've tried many homeopathic remedies and strict dieting which definitely help, but sometimes it can get out of hand and become totally intolerable. Currently this is 1-3 times per year. I am 3.5 years post-take down.

Report
4 Stars
Posted 30 months ago (5/25/2016)

RatedXifaxanfor Irritable bowel syndrome - Diarrhea (IBS-D)Report

I have had IBS-D for many years - at least 25, very painful episodes and have struggled with working (although I have managed to work for all these years). My insurance stopped their relationship with my prior GI doctor. My recent doctor was appalled that not one doctor had taken the time to really assess my situation. He did prescribe Xifaxan, my insurance would not pay for it (seriously these insurance companies just suck). Finally was able to get a two week supply courtesy of samples from my doctor. I have had two episodes in 4 months, that is awesome! I would generally have at least 3 per week. A huge thumb's up for Xifaxan.

Report
5 Stars
Posted 30 months ago (5/24/2016)

RatedXifaxanfor Irritable bowel syndrome - Diarrhea (IBS-D)Report

After many years of suffering with IBS-D, I feel as if I've been cured. My diarrhea and excessive gas are gone. I took Xifaxan for three weeks and have been symptom-free for about a month. I hope it lasts!

Report
5 Stars
Posted 97 months ago (10/17/2010)

RatedXifaxanfor Irritable bowel syndrome - Diarrhea (IBS-D)Report

It's a lifesaver! Worth paying a little extra for. I needed this when my IBS got out of control. I've had IBS for about 17 years since my gallbladder was removed. This was never an option for me before and I am so grateful my doctor prescribed it for me.

Report
5 Stars
Posted 111 months ago (8/29/2009)

RatedXifaxanfor Crohn's diseaseReport

Xifaxan has been a god send for me. 46 years old. 2 resections. Severe crohn's and IBS. Hospitalized in February of this year after a long period of remission. After hosptial, could not get off the steroids this time. Doc said let's try Xifaxan. Next day nausea went away completely. Off steroids though I am not in 100% remission. I still feel off. Cold during summer days, night sweats. Though no stomach pain. I do notice a correlation between diet, rest and how I feel so I make those efforts but as I feel better it's hard to stick to diet and rest and so I feel worse again. Stress also causes me issues. Without the xifaxan I would still be on steroids or back in the hospital. 400mg a day. Insurance is covering but my doc has to submit extra paperwork and it has to be reauthorized every 3 months which is a huge pain. Tried various probiotics including vsl3 but never noticed any help there. I will try this Boswellia and report back.

Report
5 Stars
Posted 111 months ago (8/26/2009)

RatedXifaxanfor Traveler's DiarrheaReport

I took this drug after 2 weeks of diarrhea. I picked up something after a trip to Spain. When I finally decided the diarrhea was not going to resovle itself, I went to the doctor and this is the drug he gave me. 48 hours after taking the first dose my condition GREATLY improved. I am so glad.

Report
5 Stars
Posted 111 months ago (8/26/2009)

RatedXifaxanfor Traveler's DiarrheaReport

I took this drug after 2 weeks of diarrhea. I picked up something after a trip to Spain. When I finally decided the diarrhea was not going to resovle itself, I went to the doctor and this is the drug he gave my. 48 hours after taking the first dose my condition GREATLY improved. I am so glad.

Report
5 Stars
Posted 113 months ago (6/18/2009)

RatedXifaxanfor Crohn's diseaseReport

This medication has helped me out tremendously. I was given this medication by a GI doctor. I had a cold and was taking amoxicillin. During my time on amoxicillin my Crohn's symptoms disappeared. My doctor found that interesting and prescribed Xifaxan. I rarely have stomach pain. I don't have to worry about side effects either. It's nothing like taking steroids. Steroids eliminate the pain, but created numerous side effects.

Report
5 Stars
Posted 131 months ago (12/31/2007)

RatedXifaxanfor Crohn's Disease -- MaintenanceReport

I would greatly appreciate knowing how the insurance appeal for non-payment turns out because I suspect I will experience the same problem because my doctor just recently wrote a script "off label" for a 30-day supply, instead of the protocol of 10 days supply. Also, I found several Canadian on-line pharmacies whose cost for Xifaxan is quite low, MUCH lower that ,100 per month.

Report
2.5 Stars
Posted 132 months ago (11/12/2007)

RatedXifaxanfor Irritable bowel syndrome - Diarrhea (IBS-D)Report

I have been to many doctors concerning "IBS-D". The verdict is still out on my actual diagnosis. The doctor put me on rifaximin 200 mg twice a day. The first 2-3 days I was ecstatic!! The bloating went down considerably. I did have gas and diarrhea, which is something that is normal for me. However, about a day later, omg the diarrhea was horrendous and yes, the bloating is back. Since the beginning of treatment I have had horrible headaches as well. In two days, I will be finished with the treatment and begin taking Align GI probiotics. It is in my opinion that the IBS-D is way better than the side effects of this drug. However, if it works, I guess 7-10 days of diarrhea (worse than the IBS) is worth it. I have yet to see the end result, but again, my symptoms have returned.

Report
4 Stars
Posted 135 months ago (9/6/2007)

RatedXifaxanfor Irritable bowel syndrome - Constipation (IBS-C)Report

After being diagnosed with IBS-C my doctor put me on a 10 day Xifaxan treatment and Amytriptyline 10mg and Miralax when needed. The Xifaxan was AMAZING and gave me a whole month and a half of relief. But the bloating, constipation, and all the problems eventually came back. The Amytriptyline did not work well for me as I was greatly effected by it so I slowly got off of that. The Miralax works quite well on occasion but not recommended for long term use. The Xifaxan also will lose its effectiveness after a while so still in search of the right solution for me

Report
4.5 Stars
Posted 136 months ago (7/10/2007)

RatedXifaxanfor Crohn's Disease -- MaintenanceReport

The first time I was prescribed Xifaxan it was to treat small intestinal bacteria overgrowth - a side-effect of Crohn's. It worked wonderfully. All my symptoms went away; After a month the symptoms returned; I am now on a maintenance dose and expect I will be indefinately. It has really changed my life.

Report
0.5 Stars
Posted 139 months ago (4/24/2007)

RatedXifaxanfor Irritable bowel syndrome - Diarrhea (IBS-D)Report

First off, because this stays in your intestines, it is not like other antibiotics, and you will not get a yeast infection (girls). It really did nothing for me. I was on a couple weeks course, two in the am, two in the pm. It slowed some things, gave me some thing, short, stools, but still did not make anything "normal". I have had 2 kids, and a couple times throughout the course of this, I was writhing on the floor with cramps that felt exactly like labor, without the break between them. A decent muscle relaxer helped that. I have been off a week or so, and back to d, full on. So I would say it was a waste and did nothing for me, but probably won't hurt to try (except the cramping part).

Report
4.5 Stars
Posted 142 months ago (1/31/2007)

RatedXifaxanfor Crohn's Disease -- MaintenanceReport

Works for me I started on the drug not long after a trip to the Caribbean. I was concerned about contracting traveler's diarrhea. It turns out that it also helped with bacterial overgrowth in the small intestine. I have stayed on it since then to sort of sweep out the bad bacteria before it can damage my intestine.

Report

About Drugs A-Z

Drugs A-Z provides drug information from Everyday Health and our partners, as well as ratings from our members, all in one place. Cerner Multum™ provides the data within some of the Basics, Side Effects, Interactions, and Dosage tabs. The information within the Reviews and FAQ tabs is proprietary to Everyday Health.

You can browse Drugs A-Z for a specific prescription or over-the-counter drug or look up drugs based on your specific condition. This information is for educational purposes only, and not meant to provide medical advice, treatment, or diagnosis. Remember to always consult your physician or health care provider before starting, stopping, or altering a treatment or health care regimen.

Every effort has been made to ensure that the information provided by on this page is accurate, up-to-date, and complete, but no guarantee is made to that effect. Drug information contained herein may be time sensitive. The information on this page has been compiled for use by healthcare practitioners and consumers in the United States and therefore neither Everyday Health or its licensor warrant that uses outside of the United States are appropriate, unless specifically indicated otherwise. Neither Everyday Health nor its licensors endorse drugs, diagnose patients or recommend therapy. The drug information above is an informational resource designed to assist licensed healthcare practitioners in caring for their patients and/or to serve consumers viewing this service as a supplement to, and not a substitute for, the expertise, skill, knowledge and judgment of healthcare practitioners. The absence of a warning for a given drug or drug combination in no way should be construed to indicate that the drug or combination is safe, effective or appropriate for any given patient. Neither Everyday Health nor its licensor assume any responsibility for any aspect of healthcare administered with the aid of the information provided. The information contained herein is not intended to cover all possible uses, directions, precautions, warnings, drug interactions, allergic reactions, or adverse effects. If you have any questions about the drugs you are taking, check with your doctor, nurse or pharmacist.






Video: How does xifaxan work

Xifaxan Reviews
Xifaxan Reviews images

2019 year
2019 year - Xifaxan Reviews pictures

Xifaxan Reviews recommend
Xifaxan Reviews forecast photo

Xifaxan Reviews images
Xifaxan Reviews foto

Xifaxan Reviews Xifaxan Reviews new foto
Xifaxan Reviews new photo

picture Xifaxan Reviews
photo Xifaxan Reviews

Watch Xifaxan Reviews video
Watch Xifaxan Reviews video

Communication on this topic: Xifaxan Reviews, xifaxan-reviews/
Discussion on this topic: Xifaxan Reviews, xifaxan-reviews/ , xifaxan-reviews/

Related News


Berta Bridal Fall 2019 Wedding Dresses
The Joy of Preparing for Christmas
Natural remedy for indigestion with jeera powder- video
How intensely can I exercise during these 9 months
Profiled: Designer Anine Bing on Dressing Kendall, Rosie and You
4 Ways To Pick The Perfect Accessories for Your Body Shape
ADHD in Childhood May Raise Risk for Obesity in Adulthood
Check out our other womens style buying guides
The Pregnancy Crazies: The Condition Men Get When Their Wife is Pregnant
Amitriptyline-Perphenazine Reviews
Universal DIY Wrapped Shoe Chain
Prevent Razor Burns with these 10 Quick-to-follow Tips
Best medicines that works to get rid of dandruff
6 Foods Scientifically Proven To Fight PMS Symptoms



Date: 15.12.2018, 13:34 / Views: 72545